Jay Leno & Derek Bell join International Historic Motoring Awards judging panel

August 7, 2013 By Mike Lee
Last updated on July 28, 2015

Jay Leno and Derek Bell join International Historic Motoring Awards judging panel posted on 22 August 2011

The list of judges for the inaugural International Historic Motoring Awards (IHMA), in association with EFG International private bank and Octane magazine, reads like a ‘Who’s Who’ of the historic motoring world, with the latest addition to the line-up – Jay Leno – bringing yet more expertise and authority to an already stellar group.

Leading car collectors, concours experts, automotive writers, renowned car designers, racing drivers and engineers are joining forces to recognise and celebrate the ‘best of the best’ across a range of categories covering all aspects of this ever-growing industry. Between them, the IHMA judges have a quite extraordinary amount of knowledge, experience and sheer love of historic motor cars.

The IHMA judging panel comprises:

  • Derek Bell – five-times Le Mans winner
  • Horst Bruning – President FIVA
  • Ian Callum – Director of Design, Jaguar Cars
  • Robert Coucher – International Editor, Octane magazine
  • Dick Crosthwaite – founder of historic race car restoration specialists Crosthwaite & Gardiner
  • Tony Dron – racing driver and motoring journalist
  • Ed Gilbertson – Chief Judge, Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance
  • McKeel Hagerty – Chief Executive Officer, Hagerty, and car collector
  • Simon Kidston – co-founder of Brooks (now Bonhams) Europe, and founder of Kidston SA, a consultancy to aspiring and high-level collectors
  • Jay Leno – TV presenter, automotive magazine columnist and car collector
  • Lady Susie Moss – the wife of racing legend Sir Stirling Moss
  • Nick Mason – car collector, racing driver and drummer with Pink Floyd
  • Patrick Peter – the driving force behind leading historic motorsport events such as Tour Auto and Le Mans Classic
  • Murray Smith – historic car collector and racing driver
  • Peter Stevens – designer of (amongst others) the McLaren F1 road car, the 1999 Le Mans-winning BMW, Jaguar XJR-15, and Subaru Impreza P1
  • Duncan Wiltshire – Chairman, Motor Racing Legends and co-founder of the Donington Historic Festival. Duncan will chair the IHMA judging panel.

Nominations invited…

Nominations – which can be made via the awards’ website www.historicmotoringawards.com – are invited in the following categories:

  • Museum or Collection of the Year
  • Restoration of the Year
  • Innovation of the Year
  • Book of the Year
  • Club of the Year
  • Industry Champion of the Year
  • Race Series of the Year
  • Motorsport Event of the Year
  • Motoring Event of the Year
  • Personal Achievement of the Year

As well as submitting nominations, the industry and members of the public are invited to vote for the Car of the Year. Category nominations and Car of the Year votes can be made via www.historicmotoringawards.com. Nominations close on September 30 th .

The results will be announced at a gala celebration at the magnificent St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London on Wednesday, November 16 th . Tickets for this very special event are now on sale, and cost £125pp (plus VAT), to include a three-course meal with wine. To book contact: 020 7907 6631 or email megan_wiffen@dennis.co.uk.