2011 Jim Clark Award

August 5, 2013 By Mike Lee
Last updated on August 5, 2013

2011 Jim Clark Award for Richard Noble OBE posted on 06 June 2011

2011 Jim Clark Award for Richard Noble OBE

The Association of Scottish Motoring Writers has honoured land speed record breaker Richard Noble OBE with this year’s Ford-sponsored Jim Clark Award.

Richard Noble is best known for breaking the land speed record in Thrust2 in 1983 with an average speed of 633.468mph and as project director of the Thrust SSC programme, achieving the first ever supersonic land speed record at 763.035mph.

Edinburgh-born Noble is a qualified pilot whose other projects include the ARV Super2 light aircraft, the Atlantic Sprinter Blue Riband contender and most recently the Mach 1.4 Bloodhound SSC project – the latest in the long line of Land Speed Record cars.

Presented annually, the Jim Clark Award is sponsored by Ford and decided by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers (ASMW). John Murdoch, president ASMW, said: “It is a great privilege for the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers to honour one of the world’s fastest men on land with an award in memory of one of the fastest men on the circuit. I am delighted Richard has won the 2011 Jim Clark Memorial Award that recognises worthy recipients who contribute their passion and energy to our industry.”

After the presentation Richard said: “This is a huge privilege for me and important recognition for the ThrustSSC and BloodhoundSSC teams. Jim Clark was one of my boyhood heroes and as we all know a totally brilliant driver and a great ambassador for Scotland.

2011 Jim Clark Award for Richard Noble OBE

“I was born in Edinburgh in 1946 and I follow fellow Scot Sir Malcolm Campbell (1885-1948) who held the World Land speed Record 9 times between 1924 and 1935. We have only taken the World Record three times but have held it for 27 years – the longest ever. With the BloodhoundSSC car under construction we hope to raise the record to 1,000mph taking it multiple times on the way forward from our current record of 763.035mph – so we might get even with Sir Malcolm yet!

“There is an important Scottish feature in all this. The Bloodhound Project is designed to share all data with schools and colleges in order to create a new generation of engineers and scientists. So far we have 4,432 schools on the programme of which 660 are Scottish.”

The Jim Clark Memorial Award is named after Jim Clark who, in a Lotus 49 at the Dutch Grand Prix in 1967, gave Ford its first ever Formula One win with the new Ford-Cosworth V8 Grand Prix engine. Previous winners include motorsport legends Sir Jackie Stewart, David Coulthard, Allan McNish and Colin McRae.