A wealth of star drivers and riders competing at the 2011 Goodwood Revival

August 5, 2013 By Mike Lee
Last updated on July 27, 2015

A wealth of star drivers and riders competing at the 2011 Goodwood Revival posted on 22 August 2011

Sir Stirling Moss Tribute

With just one month to go, Goodwood is now able to confirm an impressive line-up of over 70 star drivers and riders attending the 2011 Revival (16-18 September).

Well-known faces from most motor sport disciplines will be in action at this year’s Goodwood Revival, including Formula One stars, rally winners, endurance racing champions, tin top tearaways and top bikers; often competing in the most unlikely of machines.

Touring Car talent will be campaigning hard in 1960s saloons in the St Mary’s Trophy race, including DTM star (and eight-time Le Mans winner) Tom Kristensen, four-time World Touring Car Champion Andy Priaulx, and BTCC legends John Cleland, Anthony Reid, Paul Radisich, Darren Tuner, Alec Poole, Tony Dron and Patrick Watts.

Tiff Needel Goodwood Revival

These tin top racers will be joined by Scandinavian rallying greats Stig Blomqvist and Rauno Aaltonen, plus ex-Grand Prix stars Martin Brundle, Emanuele Pirro, Jochen Mass, Derek Bell, Richard Attwood, Tiff Needell, Desire Wilson, Brian Redman, Jackie Oliver, Vern Schuppan and Arturo Merzario, who are all sure to entertain the Revival spectators.

Many of these famous faces will also be racing wheel-to-wheel in more powerful machinery at the Revival, including the Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy Celebration race, and the Fordwater Trophy, which this year is being held exclusively for competition Jaguar E-types as this iconic British sportscar celebrates its half-century.

Expect to see Red Bull F1 team principal Christian Horner, Red Bull Chief Technical Director Adrian Newey, ex-Ferrari F1 driver Gerhard Berger, Jaguar’s 1988 Le Mans winner Andy Wallace, and Peugeot’s endurance ace Nicolas Minassian. Goodwood stalwarts Sir Stirling Moss, Sir Jackie Stewart, Murray Walker and Barrie ‘Whizzo’ Williams will also be in attendance.

Motorcycling heroes will include Isle of Mann TT stars Charlie Williams, Trevor Nation, Mick Grant, Ian Simpson, Chas Mortimer, Cameron Donald, Stuart Graham, Stan Woods and Keith Amor, plus World and British Superbike riders Andrew Pitt and Michael Rutter.

James Martin Goodwood Revival

The latest summary of the drivers and riders due to appear at the 2011 Goodwood Revival, is listed below.

To order advance tickets for 2011 Goodwood Revival, please contact the Ticket Hotline:

Telephone: +44 (0)1243 755055

Email: ticket.office@goodwood.com

Book on-line: www.goodwood.com/motorsport

Motorsport Star Notables achievements

Rauno Aaltonen – Monte Carlo & RAC Rally winner, & European Rally Champion

Keith Amor – Isle of Man TT star

Les Archer – 1956 European 500 Motocross champion

Richard Attwood – 1970 Le Mans winner & works BRM, Cooper & Lotus F1 driver

Michael Bartels – 2010 FIA GT1 Champion

Derek Bell – Five-time Le Mans winner, F1 driver & all round endurance legend

Gerhard Berger – 10 time Grand Prix winner & former F1 team owner

Dave Bickers – Seven times British 250 7 twice European 250 Motocross champion

Stig Blomqvist – 1984 World Rally Champion

Kenny Brack – 1998 IRL Champion & 1999 Indy 500 winner

Steve Brogan – Former British Superstock 1000 Champion

Tony Brooks – Unsung hero of the late-50s racing scene, winner of six grands prix

Martin Brundle – Former F1 star, Le Mans winner & now the voice of BBC’s F1 coverage

Alan Cathcart – Respected Motorcycle Journalist 7 racer

Ron Chandler – Former Motorcycle Grand Prix racer

Eddie Cheever – Former Grand Prix star & Indianapolis winner

John Cleland – Touring car star, twice BTCC champion

Dave Curtis – 1958 British 500 motocross champion

Cameron Donald – Two time Isle of Man TT winner & road racing star

Tony Dron – Former works Triumph BTCC driver, Le Mans competitor & journalist

Iain Duffus – Well known road racing star

Sean Emmett – British Superbike race winner & Motorcycle GP & World Superbike racer

Marino Franchitti – Sportscar star & current Highcroft Racing ALMS driver

David Franklin – Multiple British Hillclimb champion

Chris Goodwin – Regular sportscar, touring car & McLaren chief test driver

Stuart Graham – The only post-war winner of TTs on two & four wheels

Mick Grant – Seven time Isle of Man TT winner

Mark Hales – Renowned writer & national champion

James Haydon – Former Grand Prix, World & British Superbike rider

Derek Hill – Former F3000 star & son of 1961 World Champion Phil Hill

Christian Horner – Former racing driver & now Red Bull Racing Team Principal

Claudia Hürtgen – Successful GT & saloon car driver

Tony Jardine – Former F1 team insider & now TV pundit & commentator

Tom Kristensen – Eight-time Le Mans winner & DTM star

Arthur Lampkin – 1959 British 500 & 1961 British 250 motocross champion

Alan Mann – Legendary team owner

Nick Mason – Pink Floyd drummer & renowned classic car enthusiast & racer

Jochen Mass – Former Grand Prix star, Le Mans winner & touring car driver

Jeremy McWilliams – Former MotoGP rider, & 250cc Grand Prix winner

Arturo Merzario – Former Ferrari F1 star, & two-time Targa Florio winner

Nicolas Minassian – Works Peugeot driver

Chaz Mortimer – Multiple Motorcycle Grand Prix & Isle of Man TT winner

Bernard Murray – Ulster Grand Prix winner

Trevor Nation – Multiple TT & Superbike winner

Tiff Needell – Former Grand Prix driver & Le Mans podium finisher

Michael Neeves – MCN Journalist & respected club racer in his own right

Adrian Newey – F1 design genius & Red Bull Racing Chief Technical Officer

Jackie Oliver – 1969 Le Mans winner, Lotus F1 driver, & former Arrows team owner

Emanuele Pirro – Former F1 driver & five-time Le Mans winner

Andrew Pitt – Double World Supersport Champion & World Superbike race winner

Alec Poole – Touring car star, winner of the BTCC in a Mini Cooper S in 1968

Andy Priaulx – Triple WTCC Champion, ETCC champion & BMW DTM driver for 2012

Paul Radisich – Twice Touring Car World Cup champion & BTCC race winner

Brian Redman – F1 driver, Targa Florio winner & twice Sebring 12 Hours winner

Anthony Reid – Stalwart of the BTCC & former Le Mans driver

Derek Rickman – Motocross star who, with his brother Don, set up Metisse motorcycles

Don Rickman – Motocross star who, with his brother Derek, set up Metisse motorcycles

Michael Rutter – Motorcycle Grand Prix, World & British Superbike star

Vern Schuppan – 1983 Le Mans winner, & former Formula 1 & Indy driver

Ian Simpson – Three-time Isle of Man TT winner

Paul Smart – Former Grand Prix rider & brother-in-law of the great Barry Sheene

Scott Smart – British Superbike racer, son of Paul, nephew of the great Barry Sheene

Jeff Smith – Ten times British 500 motocross champion

Jackie Stewart – 3 time F1 World Champion who kickstarted his career at Goodwood

Darren Turner – BTCC star & Le Mans class winner in an Aston Martin DBR9

Andy Wallace – 1988 Le Mans winner with Jaguar

Patrick Watts – Multiple tin-top champion, & former BTCC driver

Barrie Williams – Popular veteran of the racing scene

Charlie Williams – Eight-time Isle of Man TT winner

Desire Wilson – The only female driver ever to win an F1 race

Stan Woods – Former works Suzuki Grand Prix rider

Celebrities in attendance

Win Percy – Three-time BTCC Champion & 1990 Bathurst 1000 winner

Stirling Moss – Arguably Britain’s most successful racing star & all-round hero

John Surtees – The only person to win Motorcycle & F1 World Championships

Maria Teresdae Filippis – The first female driver to compete in the F1 world championship